Some Interesting News (to me, anyway)

Lately, I’ve been whoring out promoting my animation demo reel on Twitter and in job applications, and not really getting much attention. The situation has been rather discouraging.

twitterfeed1

After mulling things over for a few days, a 20-watt light bulb went on over my head. I realized that I was casting my line into the wrong pond. You can’t count on the old pathways to get you started anymore. Creative success no longer lies in traditional job markets.

It lies in fucking YouTube, damn it!

So I reached out to a couple of popular YouTube channels that I’m a fan of (not fucking PewDiePie; I’d prefer to sell my soul). I made sure to contact the ones with a lively sense of humor, ones that might like to add some cartoons to their videos. I wasn’t sure that anyone would respond, but one did.

James Rolfe of Cinemassacre.

This guy is a passionate filmmaker, best known as the Angry Video Game Nerd. He told me that he’d been interested in adding animation to his videos for a while, but had been deterred because it’s such a slow procedure. If it was going to happen, he knew he’d need help. He liked my demo reel, and told me he’d be happy to work with me once he gets caught up on his current queue of projects.

cinemasscre1

James’s YouTube channel has nearly two million subscribers.

Wish me luck.

Author: lisvender

Writer and animator in Central California.

Leave a Reply

