Brain Brain Animation Drain

Over the last week, I’ve had two big animating marathons. At the time, I didn’t feel like I was making much progress, and to be honest, it still doesn’t feel like I accomplished much. But damn, if the time didn’t fly. I spent hours upon hours on that sucker!

But then I got tired. I never realized how tiring animation can be, how much concentration it demands. Even though I was flying the day before, I just couldn’t work up the energy to get back at it the following day, no matter how much coffee I drank.

I guess this is just my rhythm, and I need to listen to it and honor it. I kinda wish it was more consistent, though. Professional creators like Stephen King and Steven Pressman devote three to four hours a day to their craft. I binge on it for twelve to sixteen hours and then crash out for days afterward. It feels dirty and undisciplined.

Amateurish.

Oh well, it’s just something I have to hone with time. I’m sure I’ll be able to whittle it and form it into a manageable routine eventually. Inspiration can’t just be turned on and off, but the desire to see a good cartoon done is constant.

Author: lisvender

Writer and animator in Central California.

Leave a Reply

